"Easiest" soft/flexiable material

gardnert

Posted · "Easiest" soft/flexiable material

Good morning everyone!

I work/teach with a UM3 at my job, and an assignment I've worked on in the past are hanko: Japanese stamps. (these are for a Japanese culture class)

We've used TPU as the business end of the stamp (combined with a PLA body), but to be "culturally accurate" the heads of these stamps are pretty narrow in diameter, and the TPU gets pretty oozy -- losing a lot of details the students really wanted to keep. You can see in the attached image, the center stamp works well, but the one on the right is suffering.

IMG_20180711_140454.thumb.jpg.ba168622e4f88bd6bc333dd43fa9e3fc.jpg

My question is: can anyone suggest a good material for a stamp face? PLA and harder plastics don't handle the ink well.

I have no experience with soft 3D-printing materials. But soft plastics do not necessarily handle ink better. There are lots of soft plastics that do repell water, like PP and PE, so they wouldn't work at all.

Have you tried treating the surface of PLA-stamps, to accept the ink better? Or try changing the ink, so it adheres better? If you could print in PLA, you would get the best details, I think.

For example, try lightly sanding the stamp surface with fine gritt paper, so it is matte? And try adding a little bit of alcohol to the ink, so it spreads easier onto the stamp?

The advantage of sanding (or similar treatment) of the print-surface only, would be that the symbol attracts the ink well, while the rest of the stamp repells it. This might give more accurately printed/stamped symbols on paper?

5 hours ago, geert_2 said:

I have no experience with soft 3D-printing materials. But soft plastics do not necessarily handle ink better. There are lots of soft plastics that do repell water, like PP and PE, so they wouldn't work at all.