Nylon Prints start going bad suddenly

morenoa0922

Posted · Nylon Prints start going bad suddenly

I've  been trying to print a prototype piece using Nylon (needs to be strong at compression). 

I've tried the following things:

1.- I leave the filament on a filament dryer all night 

2.- Print standing up

3.- Print sideways

5.- Replaced extruder head with a new one

6.- Used an Ultimaker 2+

7.- Used an Ultimaker 2+ Extended

And every time, after some hours of print, when the piece reaches 10-13 mm the print starts going bad... like the material flow is reduced, to a point where it stops printing...

I use Simplify3d with Ultimaker Nylon settings. I've been more than a week on this and keep getting the same result... Any ideas will be appreciated.

NylonPrint01.jpg

NylonPrint02.jpg

NylonPrint03.jpg

NylonPrint00.jpg

I have no experience with nylon, but from the recommendations I read here before: did you keep the spool in a dry-box with lots of desiccant during printing? And with a teflon tube from that box to the printer? So that no normal moist air comes in contact with it? It is known that especially in a moist environment, in a few hours nylon can absorb so much water that is can not be injection moulded anymore. I guess the same would apply to 3D-printing?

Of course, theoretically there could be other causes too, such as dust accumulated on the filament and pulled into the nozzle, or the spool tangling up after some time of printing, or filament burning in the nozzle and gradually clogging it, etc..., but I guess you checked for these.

• Like 2