Poor ABS Print Quality

Humpty

Posted · Poor ABS Print Quality

Hey everyone.  I'm fairly new to 3D Printing adn have been loving it so far.  Started with PLA and everything has went well so I decide to give ABS a try.  

ABS is not going so well.  The print quality is turning out very poor, especially with overhangs.  I did a retraction test and got that sorted out, no stringing.  I also ran a bridge test and it turned out near perfect.  But some bridges on this recnt test I ran did not fair so well. All ABS prints the overhang is bad. I have an enclosure and have tried a bunch of different temps.  I run a slow speed of 40mm/s.  I need some advice on other things to test out to improve this print quality.  I've attached a few pics so you can see whats going on.

Any suggestions?

20190228_081919.jpg

20190228_081910.jpg

20190228_081853.jpg

20190228_081925.jpg

Are you using any fan?  It looks like you have the fan off.  what kind of printer is this?

ABS needs just a little bit of fan for overhangs and quality in general.  But too much fan and it will have bad adhesion and very poor strength along layer lines and might even split while printing along layer lines.

The fan is used when doing bridges  I have edited the profile to have 10% fan speed but have not tested it yet.

I am using Anycubic Mega-S and Cura 4 Beta.  I've been printing at 250 degrees as the filament roll says 245-265, bed temp is 110.  No issues with first layer adhesion.

That looks like a marlin based printer.  That's good as I know Marlin well.

Well I would play with the fan.

You need fan for overhangs as well when printing ABS.  So basically you want it always on - but on low.

On some of my printers (but not all) 10% fan will not actually do anything - it won't spin the fan (on other printers it works fine).  But it's more complicated.