Books, courses I want to learn properly...

mindwave

Posted · Books, courses I want to learn properly...

Im an IS Admin of 20+ years, but bran new to the world of 3d printing, developing etc.

Unfortunately because of the time limitations placed upon me by my job and family, learning this has come VERY slowly.

I have the monoprice MP Mini Select that I bought 2nd hand and printed 2 items and immediately jammed up the head.

Last week my son and I assembled an ANET A8 that seems to be working awesome. But Im limited to printing what others have created n(not that that wouldn't keep me busy for a decade).

But I know thwew is so much more.that I need to learn. For example I found a small 'laptop case' created by someone and posted on thingiverse.com, could work exactly for wha my next project needs. BUT

I need to learn some basics, for example, I can estimate how big it is, but how can I determine that, for example the piece from the left corner to the center is 4inches long?

Or if something is 6inches long but I need it 7 how do I do it?

I thought that if I learned 'sketchup' it would be what i need, but now it looks like most of what I want to do is done in CURA

and i cant find a book on CURA anywhere?

any and all ideas appreciated. and dont be afraid to say "HEY its easier if you use XYZ instead of what youre using,"

Thankd

J

There isn't a real book like "Cura, and all you need to know about" available. Maybe you need start writing it 🙂