Simulation View has stopped workig

StarNamer

Posted (edited) · Simulation View has stopped workig

I'm a novice with using Cura.

A few weeks ago, when I use Preview mode, I got the simulation player and could check exactly how a model would be printed. Recently, it's stopped showing up. I've check the setting of "Force layer view compatibility mode" which was mentioned in this thread. Since it worked a couple of weeks ago, my GPU (NVIDIA GeForce 730M) must support a suitable version of OpenGL. I am on the Windows Insider Preview program, so it's possible that's broken it.

What steps should I take to re-enable it or at least identify why it's not currently working?

Thanks

Edited by StarNamer

Posted · Simulation View has stopped workig

I checked the OpenGL version using the OpenGL Extensions Viewer 6.0.8.1 from here. It reports core features up to and including version 4.6 supported; a few ARB 2015 features are unsupported.

What else could be disabling the simulation player?

On 1/31/2020 at 6:49 PM, tinkergnome said:

Many notebooks are equipped with more than one graphic processor.
    Is it possible that Cura does not use the NVIDIA chip at all?

The notebook does in nfact have 2 graphics processors, an Intel HD Graphics 4000 which seems to actually drive the displays and an NVIDIA GeForce GT 730M which is used for rendering. As setup it also has 2 USB to DVI drivers.

However, my point is that the configuration of the hardware or, as far as I am aware, the software has not changed, except for a Windows Insider Preview update, and this setup was working and displaying the simulation preview a few weeks ago, but now doesn't display it.

Is there some diagnostic information available from the program to indicate why it's stopped working and what I might do to re-enable it?  Alternatively, is there an option to force the mode on the assumption that the software detection of the capabilities is wrong?

---------------------------------------------------------