Stopping a Bad Print

hiker7777

Posted · Stopping a Bad Print

I have a Ultimaker 2 printer and the print job started off well but then had many microfibers all over the place. 

I paused the job but I want to completely start over. How can I do that? 

I am making face parts for health care worker who are caring for coronavirus patients. I'm a newbie. I'm not going to 

bed without success. Help. 

1) Please take a photo.  I have no idea what you are talking about.  Microfibers?

2) You can just hit the power switch if you want.  In the pause menu I seem to remember an abort option.  Anyway then just clean things up and start over.

3) PPE is complicated.  Are you sure you will be printing a design that will actually be used?  There are lots of problems with many of the designs floating around out there.  Did you speak to a doctor?  Are you printing a design that multiple nurses or doctors approved of.  It's great that so many are helping but let's not create things that won't get used.

• Like 1

Thank you for your response gr5. I attached a photo when I should have done that before. 

I did not see an abort option. I saw "resume print" "change material" and "tune" 

So I ended up resuming the print job and will try again.  

Thank you for asking about the PPE. The person in charge has given out over 150 face shields already and Rhode Island 

Hospital called him and is asking him for more.  It's not junk 3D material and if it was I would also try to stop the process. 

With the lack of federal help, more librarians and teachers are volunteering to print the parts that are needed to make face shields.   

I really do appreciate you getting back to me so quickly. I am reading the manual and learning a lot. These printers are amazing. 

Thank you and be safe. 

Here is a link with a student explaining the process. 

https://www.wpri.com/health/coronavirus/west-warwick-students-creating-ppe-to-donate-to-health-care-workers/