Can I print these designs with Ultimaker?

kkkkk

Posted · Can I print these designs with Ultimaker?

Hi there,

I'm new to Ultimaker. I'm thinking about buying one but I'm not sure if it will fit my needs.

I am wondering can Ultimaker print the following designs:

photo48737.jpg

photo48666.jpg

image11.jpg

image12.jpg

3. I read that Ultimaker is limited to 0.4 mm in XY plane. Can I have the same amount of quality?:

IMG_0627.jpg?1331373791327

IMG_0610.jpg

Can I print these using plastic extrusion and Ultimaker or it is not possible at the moment?

Kind Regards

1. if you manage to get all overhangs within the coral structure out, then its just a matter of cleaning out 1gazillion strings from rapid movements, depending on how good the machine is calibrated.

2. worth a try, in fact i have bee surprised more than one time from the ultimaker airprint capabilities :D.

3. don't see a problem here. you print with 0.4mm nozzle, whats the diameter of the smalles line, or whats giving you the smalles possible radius. your circles should come out well.

All it's a matter how much time you let the machine spend on it. if you put the layerheight to 0.08mm for instance, it's doing an amazing fine job. But there will be no situation, where you don't see the layers.

thanks for your input @Micha

Concerning example #3: The diameter of the small circles is around 3.8 mm(radius=1.9mm). Do you think Ultimaker will manage to print them fine?

Is there any point in trying to print it in the Z direction(maybe with supports) or printing with the XY precision should be enough?

Also...I saw that Stringing is a problem with most of the 3d prints. Is this something that can be fixed with the Marlin firmware and Netfabb or it's something that one should deal with when using Ultimaker?

Should I expect stringing if I print example #3 with maximum detail and maximum print time?

Thanks for your answers - they are pretty helpful since I'm a novice around here...