hollow object prints solid

Posted · hollow object prints solid

I'm fairly new to 3d printing. I'll try to get to the problem quickly. I have tried every suggestion I can find, but I'm missing some knowledge. I made a HOLLOW threaded hole in Sketchup that keeps converting to SOLID in a few different slicer softwares I have tried. I have already successfully printed parts like this using the same tool (EP Fasteners & Holes), and they looked and printed hollow. I've tried solid inspector, Netfabb online, Cura, ideaMaker. I even tried to print it anyway and it was printing solid, not hollow. I'm pretty sure my model has a problem, but I just can't figure it out. I could go on, but you get the point. I'm uploading a file that has my part and the threaded hole separately AND a screenshot of the sliced preview. If someone could fix the part, that would be AWESOME! But, I really would like to know how to fix the problem because I'll be doing this type of thing in the future. Help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

part7_cura_screenshot.png

part7.stl

There are many solutions.

1) In sketchup it's important to make sure surfaces are white, not gray.  Right click on the inside of the cylinder (in sketchup) and select "reverse faces".  This should fix your problem.

2) Sometimes you can just uncheck "union overlapping volumes" (that's if your model is really messed up and has extra walls)

3) You can try these repair services:

netfabb free repair service is here (you have to create a free account first):
    https://service.netfabb.com/login.php

Here's another service - drag and drop mesh repair service:
    https://3d-print.jomatik.de/en/index.php

I recommend you read this so you don't have these problems in the future:

https://i.materialise.com/blog/3d-printing-with-sketchup/

from labern: When using sketchup always use these 2 plugins:
    cleanup3 (may be 4 now)
    Solid inspector.