Infill Problem

StarkFlyer

Posted · Infill Problem

I designed a holder (Shelf type of design) in Fusion 360.  Cura told me around 25 hours to print it. For a possible fit problem I decided to scale it to 101%.  Now print time is 15 hours.  Set back to 100% scale and 25 hours. Set it to 99% and 15 hours.  Tried many different settings (infill, layer height, etc.) and rebooted computer with no change.  Since I am new to Fusion 360 I went back to A123D and designed the part with it.  Same results.  I am using Cura 3.6.20 Lulzbot Edition (have their mini printer), then switched to Ultimaker 4.4.1 (use for Creality CR10-S). Totality surprised, had same symptoms.  After inspecting with layer view I found at 100% scaling it was doing 100% infill.  At 99% or 101% settings the infill is as expected.  It also took a very long time to process the layer view at 100% setting.  I included two pictures showing the differences.  I also included the part file and one of the profiles I used.

For now I am going to print at 101% to in order to complete the job.

Just wandering if anyone has stumbled across this problem before or knows how to correct it.

Thanks,

Dick

Screen Shot 100% CURA 4 4 1 .PNG

Screen Shot 101% CURA 3 6 20LE .PNG

Mini 175 STD pt4Nozzle PLA.curaprofile Pad Holder.stl

Posted · Infill Problem

It's because the model's walls are not close to an even number of wall line widths wide. If you want a quick print that should look fine just use a wall line width of 0.5mm. BTW, I use that a lot with a 0.4 nozzle with no problems at all.

• Like 1

Posted · Infill Problem

Thanks burtoogle.  I used the .5 wall line width to make the print and all was well.  You made me think more about line width settings, nozzle size, etc.  Found other settings that also worked.  Somewhere along the way I saw a "rule," more than once, the line width should be = to nozzle size.  It made sense to me so I always followed it.

Posted · Infill Problem