ironing only on top layers?

VicP

Posted · ironing only on top layers?

Hi all.

I'm pretty new to 3D printing and I'm currently using a Bibo touch 2.

I have a question about the ironing feature in Cura. I'm using Ultimaker Cura 4.5 at the moment.

I have used this feature as prescribed for smoothing the top layers of prints where I deem it necessary, however, some prints I'm doing where the first layer becomes the top of the model would benefit from ironing as well.

Is it possible to set Cura to iron the first layer of the model, obviously excluding the brim or skirt.

On some designs I'm incorporating logos or lettering in the first .5mm of the print and the first layer can be really difficult to get consistent results for this type of operation without having the inevitable lines showing slightly. I'm thinking that ironing the first layer would help to smooth it out before continuing on to the second layer.

Has anyone got any idea whether it's possible to use ironing for first layers?

Many thanks in advance.

You can't iron the bottom layer without flipping the part over, right?  I'm confused.

By default, most profiles have combing set to "all".  Change "combing mode" to "not in skin" and that should make your bottom layer look much better.

I

1 hour ago, gr5 said:

You can't iron the bottom layer without flipping the part over, right?  I'm confused.

By default, most profiles have combing set to "all".  Change "combing mode" to "not in skin" and that should make your bottom layer look much better.

I understand that ironing should only work on top layers, but since it is effectively forcing a small amount of extra filament into the previous layer, would this not also force filament into a first layer, reheating it and perhaps helping to smooth out the first layer against the glass to produce an entirely flat first layer with little evidence of lines remaining?

I will take a look at the combing settings anyway and see if that improves things.