Cura is not allowing me all the accessible print space

Lerxst2112

Posted · Cura is not allowing me all the accessible print space

Hello, I just joined here and I am just getting into 3D printing.
Right off the bat I'm having an issue with the Cura 4.6.1 slicer not slicing for me. I am using the Ender 5 Plus which has a 350mm x 350mm print space. It just so happens my model is that exact external dimension... 350mm x 350mm. I have used a different slicing program and printed the model successfully in the past, but with the Cura slicer, unless I reduce the model to around 300mm x 300mm, it gives me error messages when I press the slice button. So something is way off.

First I get a Model error when I size up my model to 350mm x 350mm;
"Your model is not manifold. The highlighted areas indicate either missing or extraneous surfaces." 

Then when I hit "slice" I get this message;
"Unable to slice.
Please review your settings and check if your models:
-Fit within the build volume
-Are assigned to an enabled extruder
-Are not all set as modifier meshes"

Can someone possibly explain what I might need to do to extend the print space in Cura enough to be able to slice the print? Or if I'm doing something very wrong in the process...

Thank you in advance!

Being line-to-line with the build surface size may be an issue (where 349.99 x 349.99 may not be an issue) .  If you have set up for a brim/skirt/raft then that detracts from the surface size as they take up room outside the model.

Non-manifold means Cura is having issues with the model file itself.  If you post the model file here someone will take a look and suggest fixes for it.  A non-manifold model cannot be sliced by Cura because there are gaps in the model (it isn't water tight).

On 7/1/2020 at 10:03 AM, GregValiant said: