baking oven tray Question

almajid

Posted · baking oven tray Question

Greetings,

I am new to 3d printing.

1) I would like to ask about the possibility of making baking tray using Ultimaker . Is there a specific filament that can hold high temperature(Oven).

2) which filament to use for Ice cube tray.

Many Thanks.

[gr5 edited spelling of baking]

It took me a while to figure out what a backing tray was.  The ice cube tray mention actually somehow helped.  I fixed your spelling above.

2) I've never tried this but I'd consider something more flexible like TPLA (tough PLA) or anything to the left of PLA and ABS in this diagram.  Maybe even TPU or "ninjatech cheetah" (which I think is TPU):

http://gr5.org/mat/

I'm not sure how brittle ABS, PLA, etc get at freezing temperatures.  Maybe someone else knows.

1) Pretty much there aren't any materials like this.  I mean PEEK can do baking trays but it's very expensive and no Ultimaker printer can print it without pretty much replacing or relocating most of the parts (servos need to be outside the printer, enclosed printer, heated bed needs to have another 200W heater added, print head needs to be higher temp, firmware needs changing).

HOWEVER, I recommend making a mold out of PLA and pouring silicone into the mold.  Silicone comes in 2 part mixtures - look on amazon, ebay or other places.  Check how hot the silicone can withstand.  For example they talk about "tin" silicone which is designed for molten tin (450F - hotter than most baking).  Look around for temperature limits for various silicone mixtures.  Many baking products are made out of soft silicone.  Like muffin trays.

Silicone mold making is a very rewarding experience I have found!  Also once you make a single mold you can make many baking sheets and sell them on etsy if you want.  They can be custom shapes like if you want to make minion baking trays to create minion shaped cup cakes!  Yay for minions!