Blob of Death

Posted · Blob of Death

Hi All,

I'm rather new to 3D printing, but recently our malaria fighting, funds limited) science project received a very generous donation of a brand new Ultimaker 2+ for me to make functional parts for the project.

I had very little trouble with the roll of silver PLA it came with, until one day my remaining roll was "lifted" but parties unknown (snipped off exactly where at the entrance to the feeder after I had finished a print!). Anyway I needed to develop more parts quickly. My next part had modules that needed to be clear, vapour smoothable and able to survive going through a washing machine, so I ordered some eSun ABS. I also ordered some clear TPU while I was about it.

From the start I have had problems with bed adhesion, jammed nozzles and most often the blob of death forming around the nozzle.  I have done numerous cold/atomic pulls. Which sort of helped, but bed adhesion was still a problem. I even bought a creality magnetic mat (which helped until warping lifted the mat from the magnet. I'm getting really desperate and really need to get a move on with these parts for both the project and my PhD. Can anybody give me some guidance?

Is the Ultimaker 2+ able to print eSun ABS and TPU (I've had more luck with the TPU but still all prints have failed). Last week while trying to see if the problem is with settings in Cura I got a message claiming my current extruder can't handle a 1.75mm fillament (all I have). is this really true? I've had one prototype print fine but for the warping, so I know it can extrude it.

Any advice is welcomed

Regards

Oliver

Posted · Blob of Death
    50 minutes ago, MosquitoWrangler said: