UM 2+ temperature Problem

loderunner

Posted · UM 2+ temperature Problem

Hi,

i have a serious problem with our Ultimaker 2+. After moving to a new building it was not possible to print any more - no material came out of the nozzle. After some attempts i solved the first problem - the spring in the feeder was worn out. But the change of the feeder didnt help. After some further examination i found out, that the temperture was too low. I had to change the setting for PLA from 200° to 260° (!) to get some print. I went on with my tries, i changed the PT100 to a new one, so i could lower the temperature to 230..240°. Then i tried a new heater, waht didn't change anything. So i even changed the whole motherboard to a new one - and it didnt help. I still have to use 230..240° to make a print with PLA.

Has anyone an idea what is going wrong here?

Greets

loderunner

I'm no expert in the UM2+, but search this forum for PTFE coupler. It is the white plastic (teflon) part inside the print head which degrades at temperatures higher than 230C. The higher the temperature the faster. 
    When it degrades the inner diameter becomes smaller and it will become more difficult for the filament to get through. These are cheap replacement parts, just order a few. Quality differs so you might browse this forum for opinions. Both the Ultimaker and 3Dsolex parts were recommended.

• Like 2

Hi,

thank you for your tip. I looked after the coupler, but its ok (looks like new) and so can't be the problem.

Is it possible the PT100 has a temperature resistence to the heat block? So that the measured temperature is less than the temperature at the nozzle? But i can't see any problem at this position.

Greets

loderunner

You already tried replacing a lot of parts.
    A temperature resistance between the PT100 and the heater block could be an explanation for your problems, but since you already replaced the PT100 I'd assume you there are no loose parts there.