I need help... Please...

OKJack

Posted · I need help... Please...

H...

Newby (retired beekeeper) here... Please forgive me if this question has already been asked elsewhere...

I'm brand new to 3D printing, and I love it !!!

I recently purchased an Anycubic Chiron 3DP, and (as recommended) downloaded Cura to slice my SketchUp designs...

So far, they have all worked well, meaning what I drew and sliced and printed were all the same !!!

But, I designed a new 400x200mm "tray" made out of a bunch of hexagons, and as it started to print I could see that it was making "solid" plates (in the lower left segment)where there should be hexagons..

Pictures attached of the Sketchup, deign, Cura slicer and Chiron print deck....

Could someone please explain what I am doing wrongly, and how to fix it...

Maybe I need to adjust some Cura settings ???

Thanks in advance...

Rick...

ice_screenshot_20210308-201357.jpeg

Screen Shot 03-16-21 at 09.28 AM.JPG

IMG_5220.JPG

STL files have something called "normals" which tells cura which side of every triangle faces inwards towards plastic and which side faces outwards towards air.  Unfortunately sketchup doesn't set these up by default.  You have to fix them all.

There's many options for you.  I'm going to recommend one but there are faster solutions. 

So in sketchup in your first photo posted above - see how some of those hexagons are white and some are gray?

See how the white ones worked okay and the gray ones didn't?  That's because "gray" is facing "inside".  You should never see gray on any face in sketchup.  Unless you are inside the part.  \

So right click on all those gray surfaces and select "reverse faces".