Can Cura do anything with this 'manifold' issue?

terrypin

Posted · Can Cura do anything with this 'manifold' issue?

First post and I'm a beginner with 3D printing, Cura (and OpenSCAD, my current choice of CAD tool.)

Would appreciate help with this box I'd like to print please:

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4598367

I commented there, and hope to hear from author, but meanwhile would appreciate help here please. I eventually managed to separate the two parts after installing Mesh Tools in my Cura 4.8. But, as no SCAD file was offered, can anything be done in Cura to fix whatever has caused the message "Your model is not manifold". Here are a couple of screenshots for further clarification:

Is it because one or more of the 'pillars' are not attached to the case? If so presumably I'd need the SCAD to work on that if the author doesn't do so?

09-Cura-NotManifold.jpg

Did you try slicing it anyway?  Sometimes there will be no issues.  The things to look for are holes filled in - areas filled in that should be open or things missing.  It's usually pretty obvious.

By the way, I have never had openSCAD create a non-manifold object - openSCAD is great.  I use it all the time.

By the way you should rotate those parts onto their backs I think.  Large flat area rotated down (you can rotate the part in cura easily - I suspect you know this).

Other tools to make a part manifold (there are dozens):

netfabb free repair service is here (you have to create a free account first):
    https://service.netfabb.com/login.php

Here's another service - drag and drop mesh repair service:
    https://3d-print.jomatik.de/en/index.php

Some people recommend tinkercad - it's free - you import your stl into tinkercad and then export it to a new stl and tinkercad will fix many issues.