I have Question Modifying the Cura

ARSTAR

Posted · I have Question Modifying the Cura

Hello, I'm a student interested in 3D printers

I'd like to make a 3D printer this time

But I want to modify Cura because there is a function that Cura does not support

1. Are there many cases where people modify Cura and build it themselves?

2. I'd like to have two heaters in one extruder and one single nozzle, but the Cura can only have one Temperature setting in one extruder

I want to modify Cura and make two Temperature settings on one Extruder, is this possible?

3. If possible, could you tell me what to do?
I have novice developer-level skills in programming

Even if it's hard for you to explain,
I am grateful for that.

Thank you

1. Yes. @burtoogle maintains his own fork of Cura, which has many features that Ultimaker Cura does not have.

See https://github.com/smartavionics/Cura/releases

2. This is already implemented in Ultimaker Cura, though it is hidden and you basically need the Printer Settings plugin to access it. However, the functionality is part of the aforementioned fork by @burtoogle

• Thanks 1

I looked into the functions of the Cura Master you told me about, but I didn't have the functions I needed
    Isn't there a 3D printer that has two heaters inside one extruder?
    Of course, the temperature of the two heaters must be set differently

If not, would I have no choice but to revise Cura's code myself?

Posted (edited) · I have Question Modifying the Cura

I may have misread the feature you would like. I thought you wanted to share one heater between two extruders (a "mixing" type hotend that allows two colors/materials from a single nozzle), but you seem to want two heaters for a single material/color. How would that work? One hotend can not have two temperatures at the same time.

Edited by ahoeben