Creality 10 S5 problem

katkafn

Posted · Creality 10 S5 problem

Hello,

I have Creality 10 S5 printer. I see that most people use Cura slicer so I also downloaded and tried to slice some of models. But every time when I slice with Cura, the print is not finished. Mostly it happens that filament is broken somewhere at or before extruder. I dont know what I am doing wrong. When I slice with Creality slicer v 1.2.3, the very old one which came with printer, it always finishes print correctly. Cura and also the new Creality slicer, ALWAYS fail. Can anyone help me with the issue? I am new at 3D printing, have this printer for 2 weeks only.

I attached an example, file with CCR1 is made by Cura and the other one made by Creality slicer.

Thank you

CableClip_NoHole.gcode CCR1_CableClipX1.gcode

Creality printers can be fussy about the SD card.  The one that comes with the printer is a really inexpensive one and has a short life span (sometimes measured in seconds).

The SD cards (any of them) can become corrupt.  When you copy a file to the SD and the end of the file gets written to a bad sector on the card, then the file will print until it gets to the bad sector and the information quits making sense to the printer.  At that point the printer will decide it's done, but nothing has told the printer to shut off the hot end or bed or fan.

If you are using Windows then you can use Notepad to open a gcode file.  Open the one from the SD card and scroll to the end.  There should be a bunch of comments starting with ";" and above that will be a line ";end gcode".  If that stuff isn't there then the SD is corrupt.

You can try re-formatting the card to FAT32.  Make sure you copy any files on it to your hard drive before you format.  Then copy your gcode to the card and try again.  If you decide on a new SD card (most people do) it must be 32gb or less.

Hi Greg,