Missing Parts When Sliced

christhetech131

Posted · Missing Parts When Sliced

Hello!  I'm new to 3d printing in general and I was attempting to build a Jane Foster Helmet (STL Attached).  When I slice it I lose sections of the build.  Can anyone advise me how to fix it?  I've tried adding custom supports to the build in different configurations and have been unsuccessful getting this to print.  I've been doing tiny models to test with before building a full scale model.  Thank you in advance for your help!

Jane Foster Hollow.stl

There are a couple of things happening.

When you open a model and the "Model is not Watertight" warning comes up it means there are errors in the model.  Simple errors can be fixed in Cura using the Mesh Tools plugin.  More extensive repairs may require an on-line service.  A lot of errors likely means going back to the CAD software.

I thought maybe the walls were too thin, but it looks like there were 20 places where adjacent surfaces weren't joined together.

This is from the on-line service I used for repair:

-> Analysed your file:
    --> 20 Naked edges (?)
    --> 0 Planar holes (?)
    --> 1 Non-planar holes (?)
    --> 0 Non-manifold edges (?)
    --> 0 Inverted faces (?)
    --> 0 Degenerate faces (?)
    --> 0 Duplicate faces (?)
    --> 0 Disjoint shells (?)
    -> Repairing: 100.00%
    ----- Repair completed in 209ms ------
    -> Vertex count changed from 821 to 822 (+1)
    -> Triangle count changed from 1620 to 1640 (+20)

This one seemed to slice alright...

1438609238_JaneFosterHollow_fixed.stl

• Thanks 1

33 minutes ago, GregValiant said:

There are a couple of things happening.

When you open a model and the "Model is not Watertight" warning comes up it means there are errors in the model.  Simple errors can be fixed in Cura using the Mesh Tools plugin.  More extensive repairs may require an on-line service.  A lot of errors likely means going back to the CAD software.