Using same PSU for printer and heated bed?

Posted · Using same PSU for printer and heated bed?

So...

Just to revive the never dying dscussion on heated bed upgrades for the UM1 I wanted to ask a few questions in relation to this...

First of all, I am no big expert when it comes to electronics, so bear with me if something is way off...

I have this heated alu bed lying around: http://reprap.me/front-page-show/alu-reprap-heater-board-mk3.html

And I was talking to a friend of mine about doing a heated bed upgrade for my UM1, and the possibility of using the same PSU for both printer and the heated bed...

I've read enough on different forums and websites to come to the conclusion that I should not attempt to connect the heated bed directly to the UM Electronics, but instead use the heated bed output of those to control a relay sitting in between the heated bed and a 12/24V power supply...

I'm not a big fan of adding more cables, weight etc. to the printer and would therefore really like to make do with just one Power supply...

So I guess my qustion boils down to:

Is it possible/recommendable to eg. get a 20V power supply with enough watts to run both printer and heated bed, but connect them seperately to the PSU?

(UM electronics directly, Heated bed through relay)

My friend was worried about voltage fluctuations when the relay kicks the heated bed on and off, and how these would affect the rest of the printer... Any input on that? Has anyone done something similar?

As long as the PS has enough watts. Allow 70W for UM. Add the HB Watts and go at least 50W more than that to be sure and you should be right. 24V is more common for HB's though and if you go to 24V for UM you may need a better 12V reg inside UM or at least provide better cooling for the current one.