What could cause this anomaly?

HienoKaveri

Posted · What could cause this anomaly?

Hi,

I'm pretty new to printing. I have an Ender 5 Pro with BLtouch, and ran into this issue while printing. Using eSun PLA+, 210C, 65C bed, 0.2layer, speed 60mm/s.

There is this strange layer that appears randomly, as seen in the pictures. If I print again with same settings, result can be perfect. Also no telling where and when this happens.

The red object is not solid, walls are a few mm thick. Same thing on the gray box, some layers are ruined all of a sudden, then it gets back to normal.

I'm sure someone has seen this type of behavior before? What's the deal?

thanks.

HK

20211202_223331.jpg

20211203_012232.jpg

Posted · What could cause this anomaly?

On the red piece I see that at around layer 15 there was a slight problem, at the visible defect the problem was major, and above the major problem there is another layer that shows the minor defect again.

Since they don't appear to be at regular intervals (Z binding or junk on the Z wheels or something else mechanical) then it would appear that something is intermittently affecting the extrusion.  The Enders (I have a 3 Pro) and CR-10's share the same model hot ends and it's often a partial clog at the bottom of the bowden tube where it is supposed to provide a seal against the top of the nozzle.  If a gap develops there (and it will over time) then longish retractions can pull molten material into the gap between the tube and the nozzle end.  That material in the gap can cause a partial blockage resultant in intermittent flow.