Multi Axis Slicing

ClemeH

Posted · Multi Axis Slicing

Hello Everyone,

I am a researcher at the UAS Technikum Vienna and am currently investigating possibilities to enhance a large scale robotic 3D-printing station (6 DoF) with a non-planar / multi axis slicing system. Our machine is able to print objects with the size of about 3m². We use Cura for slicing the objects in a planar way.

Now my qeustion is, if it is possible to use Cura Slicer to slice the objects in multiple directions?

This basically means that parts of the object should be sliced in another direction compared to e.g. the begining of the object (increasing the amount of axes possible).

If not, would it be possible to create a pluging for cura that can enable such functionality? Maybe someone who has experience with Plugins can tell me if such an approach would even be possible with the base framework of cura.

Thanks in advance.

I think that the most advanced guy on this point is René Müller  aka  Spiritdude on Github. Different links hereafter on his work and concerning your subject.

https://xyzdims.com/2021/04/10/3d-printing-non-planar-slicing-with-planar-slicer/

https://xyzdims.com/tag/non-planar-slicing/

https://github.com/Spiritdude/Slicer4RTN

• Like 2

On 1/29/2022 at 1:31 PM, ClemeH said:

my question is, if it is possible to use Cura Slicer to slice the objects in multiple directions?

No, not out of the box. CuraEngine, the actual slicer that does the calculations, only supports slicing perpendicular to the buildplate.

On 1/29/2022 at 1:31 PM, ClemeH said:

would it be possible to create a pluging for cura that can enable such functionality?

Theoretically? Yes. The frontend Cura is very modular. Even the CuraEngine backend is a plugin in Cura.