Jump to content

v4.13 old profiles from v4.12 are wiped on startup


widden

Recommended Posts

Posted · v4.13 old profiles from v4.12 are wiped on startup

I've upgraded to 4.13.  In the process my profiles were deleted (uninstalled the old version) - I thought; not a biggie I keep a local backup (of the folder quality_changes).

But now I'm copying these files into the quality_changes folder, cura empties the folder on program startup.

 

Weird.  So how can I get my profiles back? 

 

Please tell me there is a way?  I mean no sane person would build a program where an upgrade means user profiles are garbage...right?

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · v4.13 old profiles from v4.12 are wiped on startup

    Uuh. Copying them there should do the trick yeah.

    Could you share your log files?

     

    Also: Cura has an automatic built in (online) backup functionality. You can find that under extensions.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted (edited) · v4.13 old profiles from v4.12 are wiped on startup

    Hi, thanks for looking into this.

     

    The stderr and stdout are empty in the cura folder, so I'll not bother.

    Attaching the

    cura/4.13/cura.log

     

    I've just done a copy files in and restart right before (and the files are gone again) .

     

    Is there anything else you might need?

    cura.log

    Edited by widden
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · v4.13 old profiles from v4.12 are wiped on startup

    It is removing the profiles that you copy as it's deeming them to be incorrect. Profiles always come in pairs and according to the log it just finds a whole slew of profiles that don't (and are thus removed since they won't work)

     

    So could you share the profiles that you are putting in that folder?

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted (edited) · v4.13 old profiles from v4.12 are wiped on startup

    Here's a couple, they aren't all important, mostly incremental changes, but I'd like to be able to keep the last 10 or so to be able to go back if I find that the latest is terminally ill.


     

    I did not copy *all* of them back into the live folder, either - maybe I should do that?

     

    Btw also, looking at the whole thing with this 'pairs' in mind; could it be that I should order by date and copy a large bunch instead of cherry picking?

     

    Yeah I think in light of what you wrote, I'll test these later.

     

    cura profiles.zip

    Edited by widden
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · v4.13 old profiles from v4.12 are wiped on startup

    Yeah, ok - so they do come in pairs, and hence copying just some of the files does not work.

    When I've copied the whole shebang, it worked.   My fault was that I thought I can just copy a few and it'll work.

     

    Thanks, mystery solved.

    • Like 1
    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
          • Like
        • 7 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...