Problems getting started with my Ultimaker 2

CrownGirl

Posted · Problems getting started with my Ultimaker 2

Hey all,

I semi-recently purchased a higher mileage Ultimaker 2 that I haven't been able to get a great print from. I'm new to 3d printing outside of downloading STLs from the web and making minor tweaks to the slicer. I've also played with a bunch of settings and replaced a bunch of different parts. My prints are getting substantially better from when I first started, but I think there might be something I'm missing. From the pictures (and video), I think I'm having problems with stringing and poor bridging from what I can tell. In the helix video, you can see that it looks like its consistently bumping the print as it moves. In some of the pictures, you can also see where it looks like it is almost dragging the nozzle. I've also noticed that the filament also tends to curl up on the nozzle. Infill also doesn't completely connect, but this only started recently happening. I think this is due to a slicer setting.

Things I've done:

I've adjusted the temp up and down +/- 5-10 degrees as well as played a little bit with the speed with no success. I've also replaced the complete hotend, bowden tube, and upgraded the feeder to the Ultimaker 2+ feeder. When I upgraded the feeder, I did calibrate the e steps several times and believe it is within 1mm .The printer has over 1400 hours on it, and seems to be in decent condition. One of the belts does squeak, which I plan on replacing at a later date. I have also performed many atomic pulls, even with the new nozzles.

Slicer settings:

Latest Cura using the "normal" profile (0.15 IIRC). Have messed with retraction distance and speed, with no real improvements.

Filament:

I WAS using Ultimaker PLA Red, but have switched to Ultrafuse 2.85 in order to rule out filament (Ultimaker PLA is all several years old). Filament is kept in mylor bags, and is preheated to 55c for two hours prior to printing.