Having a slicing problem

Bigiron750
Go to solution Solved by GregValiant,

Posted · Having a slicing problem

Hello I am new to 3d printing. I have been using cura slicer since I started. I am printing a boat hall and when I rotate it 180 degrees it gets a space between the print . Was wondering if anyone has seen this before and how can I fix it? I attached 2 photos. The first one is the way i would like to print it but it gets that space missing. The second one is if i rotate 180 it is fine.          Thank you 

20230106_182129.jpg

20230106_182209.jpg

• Solution

You have a problem with the model itself.  If you are using Windows you could try to use MS 3D Builder to repair the model.

Airplane parts and boat parts are tricky though.  Some are modeled just as surfaces rather than solids and attempting to fix them results in a loss of detail and/or areas getting filled in.  Give it a shot though and look closely at the Cura Preview to insure nothing truly Stoopid happened.

There are also different slicing modes.  Under the Cura Special Modes section you can select a different "Surface Mode" and see if it makes a difference.

11 hours ago, GregValiant said:

You have a problem with the model itself.  If you are using Windows you could try to use MS 3D Builder to repair the model.

Airplane parts and boat parts are tricky though.  Some are modeled just as surfaces rather than solids and attempting to fix them results in a loss of detail and/or areas getting filled in.  Give it a shot though and look closely at the Cura Preview to insure nothing truly Stoopid happened.

There are also different slicing modes.  Under the Cura Special Modes section you can select a different "Surface Mode" and see if it makes a difference.

Yep.  That's one of the tell-tales of a model problem.  Another is disappearing sections.  A third is when Cura shows a model with purple polka-dots.