Print starts good - at some point begins to have extrusion issues

Posted · Print starts good - at some point begins to have extrusion issues

I'm one of the many folks who got a 3D printer for Christmas. I'm learning there's a BIG learning curve when learning how to use one. I've been doing great and having more successes than failures so I guess that is a good thing.

I'll start by saying the filament I'm using here is old. It has been stored in its sealed plastic bag but without desiccant.

I had a print going that was going to take about 8 hours and about 2.5 hours or so in (could have been more) I began to notice the filament wasn't extruding. Sometimes very little, sometimes not at all.

The previous prints have come out fine so I don't think there is a clog.

I believe all of my settings are good but I'm still learning so I'm sure I may have missed something.

It doesn't look like the temperatures are going down and I'm not printing super fast.

I've included a photo of the print where I stopped it and my project file.

Help is appreciated.

JPEG image-439A-B618-43-0.jpeg

CFFFP_lausanne-perpetual-pace-man-1.3mf

I don't think it's the problem, but it wouldn't hurt to try drying the filament a bit - I've had PLA which has been laying around for years work reasonably well, but not all PLA is the same. Popular trick if you don't want to buy desiccant or a filament dryer is to set your printer's bed to about 60°, lay the spool of filament on the bed, cover it with a towel and give it an hour or two.

Have you tried printing again or just that one? It would be a good test to see if it works fine up to a certain height like that one, but then goes bad again, in which case you can probably rule out the filament as a problem.