Bad print results

Posted · Bad print results

Hi all,

Recently I got the opportunity to use an Ultimaker 3 in my classroom. Before I start printing with my students (6th grade), I want to familiarize myself with printing and slicing. And since I DM for our D&D group, what better than to print some enemies?

I have some limited experience with 3D printing, but the problems I encounter now are too much for me to fix. As you can see in the attatched images, I get a lot of spaghetti and overall bad results. The Ultimaker 3 printer is used by a lot of other teachers so maintenance was probably not really number one priority. So firstly I did hot and cold pull. My supports with PVA were really bad so I bought a new spool of filament (I read that moisture is really bad for PVA quality, picture no. 1 is done with the old spool). Still, my results are mediocre and I'm not satisfied with the results. 

I use Ultimaker Cura 5.6.0 with fine settings (0.1mm), retraction on and with prime tower. What settings could I try to get better results? 

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

Printing PVA is another whole learning curve.

Yes, PVA can get water in it and it only takes a few hours on the back of the printer.  Certainly a week on the back of the printer and it has completely absorbed water.  I don't think this is the problem in your final print but we have to talk about it.  It's not ruined - you just have to dry it.

When storing PVA I use a 2 gallon (8 liter) zip lock bag for each spool and about 1/2 cup (1/8 liter) of desiccant per bag.  Get color changing desiccant (buying a liter of desiccant is quite cheap).  Sometimes you can get 2 spools in one bag.  The desiccant needs to be recharged when it changes color which for me is once every month or so.  I do it in a paper towel lined ceramic bowl and put it in the microwave for a minute or so and then let it sit out and cool for 2 minutes and repeat about 5 times until it stop getting lots of condensation.