Ultimaker Cura not slicing.

borgn

Posted · Ultimaker Cura not slicing.

I have been using Cura for a couple months now, and I've run into a problem all of a sudden. When I try to slice my project to get it ready for printing, it loads indefinitely. This is the only model that this happens on, it has 110 parts, and most of my others had much less. I have excess memory 32 gigabytes, and it is still super laggy, and never loads even overnight.

The top image shows the detailed model with 110 parts, and as you can see it never loads. The bottom image only had about 10 parts but it loads immediately. I have also attached the project fil so you can see for yourself. Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks in advance.

CFFFP_shipv1.3mfCFFFP_shipv1.3mf

ship.thumb.png.f68b3cb85ffcf057b5c96eabfe32a856.pngnonship.thumb.png.bd5b665307a3eb510292b3156700eda1.png

20 hours ago, GregValiant said:

I get an error when I download that file.  The file is only 70 bytes.

Sorry, it won't let me download it, it uses 20g of my memory and just freezes. It also won't let me upload the stl file for some reason, its about 1.3gigabytes. Is there any way you could help me without this info? I understand if you can't.

This is your image of the boat.  Cura will show a polkadot pattern when it notices errors in the model.

Here I've marked two areas where there are definite problems.

1c.thumb.png.5dc34e82a8ca027361fa2f174b53a1db.png

That can keep it from slicing, or slice it in error.  The model needs to be repaired.

If you are running Windows you can go to the Microsoft store and download "MS 3D Builder".  It has some good tools for altering model files and a pretty fair repair utility.

One of the Edit tools in MS 3D Builder is a "Merge" tool.  After repairing the model you could try merging all those parts into a single solid