Building a New UM2

Posted · Building a New UM2

Hi,

I´m carlos from Portugal, i´m thinking in building my own UM2 since the plans are open source and i have already downloaded from github.

I have a cnc Shapeoko 2 so i can cut the frames with it.

I have looking in ebay and other shop sites looking for some electronic parts but is very hard to find. For exemple i can´t find the main board anywhere!can i use the board from UM1 or from other brand?

I have also a few doubts in choosing the material to make the frame, the original UM2 come with 6mm dibond but is also very hard to find.

If anyone have the same project in hands can share the experience pls

Thanks,

I have some experience in building the UM2.

First off, the dibond. Forget about it. Use something else. It's actually not great to work with, hard to get, scratches easy during assembly, and expensive.

As for the electronics, any RepRap electronics will work. We're not selling lose boards yet, as it's hard to keep up with production on those just for the UM2. You might want to do some modifications for the LCD controller, as the OLED display is one of the most difficult parts to source (we had to buy a whole lot of them at once)

The electronics from RepRapDiscount could be used for example, he sells both main boards and controllers.

And what do you recommend for the frame?i don´t really want make it with plywood, im searching in others materials.

i´m from europe so i will try to buy here because of the taxes from US is too expensive:( do you recommend a shop in europe like reprapdiscount?

Thanks for your help

For the electronic i am looking a kit like this: SunFounder Mega 2560 + Ultimaker 1.5.7 + A4988 3D Printer Kit. I don't know if is the best option but is easy to find, if you have other suggestion please tell me.

Plywood works very well but you could use a laser cutter to make it in acrylic:

http://umforum.ultimaker.com/index.php?/topic/275-acrylic-ultimaker/