Gel Printing, bioprinting, food printing on the um... any advice?

Posted · Gel Printing, bioprinting, food printing on the um... any advice?

Hullo again!

So I've been modifying um's to extrude all sorts of viscous liquids... My background is in nanobioscience and I've done stuff like print finger bones (regular pla) and seeded them with osteoblasts (bone cells) and yes they grow well... anyways, I have also printed dicom (mri) data using a um into liquid, like arteries, reproductive, carcinoma's, etc etc it was just proof of principle.

So I was wondering what experience you have had printing bio goop yourselves? What kind of mechanisms were you using? We used something based on organovo;s and also integrated the diybio bioprinter inkshield dealie into a um hybrid and it worked not so bad I would say.

Has anyone integrated any pump systems into the printer? heating coils to control the viscosity etc? What needles did you use and how low could you go?

I found the triangular plastic nozzles worked way better than the metal needles for example..

Thanx!

Jem

Yea this is a very cool topic, kudos to you Jemma. I am currently on a short project where we're using MRI, CT and OCT scan 3D data to print out various structures of the human body, we have plans for the future to go into a more human body friendly printing. I see you're already on it ;) looking very much forward to your future updates and posts.

What software are you using to convert DICOM CT files to STL? I have tried invesalius and 3DSlicer, but I'm still having to do a lot of cleanup to get manifold models.

Hello!!

Ok with regards to converting dicom to stl, I cheated, as it was like too much effort. So I found online a japanese mri database, its been translated into english and has a complete human body up there as dicom files converted to stl's so I used that as a proof of concept. I don't have a direct link, you will have to do a search but its there, somewhere's...