performance issue

izo2

Posted · performance issue

hello,

i'm totally new in cura edition,

and i have performance issue,

if i load a decimate mesh of 2 000 000 tri and try to reach a 15 * 15 cm size

cura look stuck, some time it take more than 10 mn to change a setting and sometime it still simply stuck.

i see my processor just use @ 15% and memory @ 10%

is there some optimisation issue ? or i'm the only one to have this performance ?

thanks

(and sorry for my poor english)

Decimate mesh should lower it to say 10,000 triangles. How did you decimate? Maybe try this:

http://www.shapeways.com/tutorials/polygon_reduction_with_meshlab

Cura should *never* be sluggish in normal view. Was this slice view? Sometimes cura is slow in slice view - while it loads all the slices into graphic display.

Cura slices faster with thicker slices (say 1mm slices). And with smaller parts and with fewer triangles.

thanks for answering.

my model is a sculpt from zbrush, it's use decimation master to down the sculpt max to 1 000 000, otherwise i start loosing detail. And with the ultimaker 2 can handle 0.02, it sad to don't use it ;).

but even in 0.06 cura is very slow and stuck for more than 10 mn, sometime never respond so i can't save my gcode.

in comparaison simplify3d slice it in seconds, but charge 99% the cpu, that the behavior epected for extensive 3d operation.

Some machines experience slowdowns like this with super-high polygon models (2mil triangles is way over the top, 200k is much better) I haven't nailed down the cause yet.

my pc have a pretty strong hardware, but it can be an incompatibility issue,

is there specific distrib to install or redist maybe ?

but 2 mill triangles is average to enjoy the 0.02 mm of the ultimaker 2

and it decimate from a 32 mil mesh from zbrush.

at least i have no issue with simplify3d, but i would like to use cura.