Alternating Layer Thickness

nebby85

Posted · Alternating Layer Thickness

Hi I'm new to the 3D world with recently purchasing an Ultimaker Original Kit

I printed out an RC car wheel rim that I designed and I was quite pleased with the outcome.

I originally printed the rim with a layer thickness of 0.25mm which took 7hours then I decided to see the quality at 0.1mm per layer which took 23hours.

I then thought about it and realised that ideally this print could be printed at 0.25mm layer thickness for most of the print where as the face of the rim, which was at the top of the print could be printed at 0.1mm or less for a good finish.

I was thinking of a plugin for Cura to change the layer heights after a certain Z value. I realise if the z values are just simply reduced or increased in the Gcode it will stretch or squash the model.

I guess if I was to reduce the layer thickness then more layers would be required which would need the X and Y values as well. increasing the layer thickness would effectively remove info and therefore possibly make a plug in work.

I haven't looked to hard for anything that already does this.

Also I'm assuming that the plugins work as a post slicing script, altering the gcode after Cura has created it. this would make any plugin going from large to small on a plugin very complex and effectively have to re-slice the model for good results.

I think the way to get a plugin like this to work is to set the thinnest layer in the normal Cura settings and then have a plugin that will look for layers between certain Z values (upper and lower) of where the thicker layers are required. ideally the thicker layer would need to be a multiple of the thinner layers in order to work well.