LED lights, new fans and stepper motors on UMO+?

Posted · LED lights, new fans and stepper motors on UMO+?

HI.

As im new to the 3dprinting World, i have just got my UMO+.

As a lot of you, by assembling the printer i have a lot of Things i want to upgrade or just change for better personal usage.

1) My first queation is to the LED lights that the UMO2 have. Its nice to see the prints better, but how much light can i apply to the UMO2 main board which is default in my printer?

2) I would very much like to get rid of the big standart fan. I know some smaller fans that makes a lot less noice. But what about the fan output on the main board, can it support 2 small fans instead of the standart one?

3) I have looked around, and found that a lot of you modify your ultimakers with new steppermotors. the standart is 1,8degree and you replace it with 0,9degree. is the 0,9degree motors more quiet?

I hope you understand my questions, and i have searched with no luck. Please help the newbie.

Regards Mark.

Hi Mark,

Welcome to the forum!

I hope the assembly went smooth?

1) Are you sure it will make a big difference, since the frame is mostly open so ambient light will access the build volume too. But the Ultimaker Original+ has the same electronics as the Ultimaker 2, so you could use the same LED strip. I believe it is 24V (?)

2) The fan has an output of 5V. But on my Ultimaker Original (which is not a +) I have mounted two of the same fans on the same outlet and it was fine.

3) I actually don't really know a lot of people who have replaced the motor.

Why would that be necessary? What I can think of is the feeder motor, but for the Ultimaker 2 there is a different stepper motor than the Ultimaker Original.

Leds. 24v. Um2 led strip or diy https://ultimaker.com/en/community/view/9607-leds-on-umo-out-of-the-box

Fan. You can use 2 fans yeah. Don't use more than 200mA or you can break the weak pwm fan system. 24V or in series like the um2 uses (not recommend).