Extruder not working

darkglove

Posted (edited) · Extruder not working

Hi, total 3D printer noob here!

Just got myself an Ultimaker Original +, built it and 99% working.

But, when I go to print the extruder doesn't extrude. One Job....

So I've done some trouble shooting.

If I plug the extruder motor into the X axis socket and send move commands it works, so the motor is fine.

I've installed Pronterface so I can test the extruder motor but it does nothing. I wanted to try to control it in Extruder port 2 but can't seem to find a G Code for the 2nd port.

Either way, it seems like Port 1 isn't doing what it's supposed to.

I'm using the most up to date version of Cura which uploaded the default firmware.

I've tried using http://marlinbuilder.robotfuzz.com/ to build several different versions of firmware but when I upload any of them, they seem to upload fine but once complete the Controller display starts to display gibberish....

Any ideas?!

Edited by Guest

Posted · Extruder not working

robotfuzz hasn't updated since the "plus" came out which uses a completely different circuit board. You are better off using the amedee version:

https://bultimaker.bulles.eu/

The extruder will not turn unless the nozzle is above 170C. You can alternatively enable "cold extrusions" within pronterface by sending this gcode through pronterface. After power cycle cold extrusions are again disabled:

M302

Posted (edited) · Extruder not working

The second extruder can't be controlled by the Ulticontroller. To do it by gcode you need to change to tool 1 with T1 and then you control head/extruder 2 by gcode. I would love to be able to 'extrude' the tool 1 on the Prepare sub menus.

Edited by Guest