Raft Taking Away From Total Object Height

QuasarQuon

Posted · Raft Taking Away From Total Object Height

I'm fairly new to 3D printing so any help would be great. I'm printing with ABS, and using a heated metal build plate along with a perforated board. Because I'm using a perforated board I'm going to print with a raft, but I can't seem to get it quite right. Whenever I add a raft in the print settings the layers of the raft take away from the total height of the object, which for me is a problem because i need the print to be as accurate as possible. I've looked around and can't seem to get any kind of answer. Thanks in advance

Hi, do you mean for example when you print a 10mm cube with a raft, it is only 9mm after removing the raft?

It should be printed in 11mm, and after removing the raft it should be 10.

Some pictures could probably help :)

Thanks!

Hi, do you mean for example when you print a 10mm cube with a raft, it is only 9mm after removing the raft?

It should be printed in 11mm, and after removing the raft it should be 10.

Some pictures could probably help :)

Thanks!

Yep, that's exactly it. Here are some pictures.

5a3315b0b3c25_noraftfirstlayer.thumb.png.4e7e1b1896987aa8dd72576b46344835.png

5a3315b0c93d1_noraftfinallayer.thumb.png.bcd98de101d01d2a1610e485447422a4.png

So the cube is 20mm and at .1mm layers this makes it 200 layers. I have my bottom and top thickness set to .2mm which makes them the first and last two layers. When I don't have a raft enabled it works out just fine, you can see the top (last two) layers are solid.

5a3315b0e4f59_3Layerraftprintstartson4.thumb.png.5167dfbf8bffcd323e882b210bd7abf3.png

So here I have the raft enabled and the raft is a total of .3mm making it 3 layers in this case. You can see the actual cube starts printing on layer 4.

5a3315b12ee8e_top.2raft.3.thumb.png.97e91ccedf602b9866ee744af7eb24f0.png