Help please!! UM2 making a vibrating/resonating sound while printing....

cleatus269

Posted · Help please!! UM2 making a vibrating/resonating sound while printing....

hello there! this is my first time using this forum. i hope that i can figure everything out with relative ease. I brought my UM2 about 2 months ago and i LOVE IT!! i have been using it moderately. i have been taking great care of it, covering it at night, oiling it and everything. it has been working great. however, the other day it started to make this vibrating/resonating sound while printing. now, ive only noticed this sound while the fans are ON. so during the initial layer lay-down while the fans are OFF it does not make this sound. so i have narrowed it down to that.

I have attached a video of the sound. you can hear it very loud after the 00:30 mark.

i tried lubing it more with the sewing machine oil on the horizontal rods without success.

i will add that i have the olsson block installed on my printer. but, it has been installed for a while and has just now started to make this sound. here are some pics of the heat sink "touching" the fan mount, but it has been that way ever since i installed the olsson block. but, i have removed the fan mount and tried to push the heat sink in further without success.

IMG_3138.thumb.JPG.eec0ba22920b5c51656748cb176e93d5.JPG

IMG_3139.thumb.JPG.b6e632d4c96a2fea8f9c23fe3c499154.JPG

i should add that NONE of the prints are affected by this sound/vibrations. it is just loud and irritating.

TIA!!!

IMG_3138.thumb.JPG.eec0ba22920b5c51656748cb176e93d5.JPG

IMG_3139.thumb.JPG.b6e632d4c96a2fea8f9c23fe3c499154.JPG

Posted (edited) · Help please!! UM2 making a vibrating/resonating sound while printing....