Top edge issues

Katieb

Posted · Top edge issues

Hey guys, im hoping you might be able to help me out with a little issue ive got.

Please excuse my ignorance when it comes to the correct terms used - im a newb and still coming to grips with this technology!

Ok, so im printing (well, trying to) a cookie cutter.

I have no trouble obtaining the shape however I cannot seem to get my edge right. Ive tried putting a chamfer on the edge but didnt have much luck with that so I tried to create an outer wall next to the inner wall but make the outer wall thicker and slightly lower then the inner wall. It all looks good on the graphic but when printing, the two edges end up being the same height, resulting in a thickess of .6mm.

The inner wall is .2mm and the outer .4mm - the idea was to have the inner slightly thinner to give a nice cut.

Ive tried adjusting the shell thickness in Cura and the bottom/top thickness but I get the same result.

Im sure this is a simple thing to rectify but I just dont know how!

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated - or any other suggestions on how to achieve my desired end result :)5a3319bfaec28_Screenshot2016-03-1512_06_57.thumb.png.868979e02d1772aaff4819b8240c8550.png

5a3319bfaec28_Screenshot2016-03-1512_06_57.thumb.png.868979e02d1772aaff4819b8240c8550.png

Posted · Top edge issues

I see you are using dsm - that's great. Now you need to look at your part in "layer view". I'm pretty sure it's not printing the last few layers because your walls are too thin. To prove it, in Cura, start by setting your nozzle to .4mm if it isn't already. Then set the shell to .3mm, .2mm, .1mm and see if at some point the wall re-appears.