Lifting off the print bed !!! Help please.

mkoenig

Posted · Lifting off the print bed !!! Help please.

I am new to 3D printing. I have having issues with print lifting off the print bed. Anyone had this issue and found the reason? I have the UM2 and I am using the Elmer's purple glue on the glass plate for adhesion. I am printing with PLA.

13467293_10153506458961714_2025816903_o.thumb.jpg.82f7cf884d6f4d3be1968c015c0ef714.jpg

13467293_10153506458961714_2025816903_o.thumb.jpg.82f7cf884d6f4d3be1968c015c0ef714.jpg

Posted (edited) · Lifting off the print bed !!! Help please.

Hi mkoening,

I've also started my printing lately, and got some surprises when starting to print.

First I used heat bed at temperature set to 60 deg. Celsius. (Yes, I'm using PLA as well.)

I started by washing the bed, dried it and go, but as the model grow up it suddenly snapped off the bed and a lot of filament mess... etc. etc.  :)

Well, I learned this the bed have to be "super" clean, no remains of fingerprints etc.

After this learning, the model never come loose like that again.

Then I learned a new lesson; my printing was never that good, especially the part of the model close to the heat bed.

So I learned this here in this forum (thanks to Nicolinux:));

I've stopped using the heat bed when printing PLA, just using glue stick!

It stick very well to the bed glass plate and do not go loose, -but can be really hard to get off the bed.

I do not know the "Elmer's purple glue", but the glue I'm using is the glue meant for using gluing photo into the "photo album". This is a glue stick and loose up easily in water, kind of like soap.

Put a tiny layer where the print will sit, make sure to cover this place.

I started printing at 210 deg. C as advised, but I'm now printing at about 192 deg C.

You may find the correct temperature for your brand of PLA, I'm using Verbatim PLA.