X or Y switch broken

toms_tk

Posted · X or Y switch broken

Hello,

I recently brought an UM 2 extended. When I select to home, it moves to the left limit switch, As soon as it striked the limit switch it stops moving for a 5 seconds and the screen displays "X or Y switch broken" .

I tried exchanging the X and Y switch, no change!

Removed and again tightened all the rollers and rod's!

Bending the limit switch!

Updating the firmware!

Please help me!!! I am a beginner.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwERQwShS5g

Oh - that's strange. Why is it move so slowly to the right after it hits the switch?

Is the Y axis ever moving at all? I'm wondering if the problem is simply that your Y stepper motor isn't connected at all. When you are doing that procedure - when it is homing X and Y *both* axes should be engaged - in other words you shouldn't be able to push the head in X or Y direction. So do this experiment - with power off or when you first power up, the X and Y axes should move easily if you push them around. But when running that procedure try pushing the head towards the back. Does it move easily? If so then your Y stepper has a broken wire or isn't plugged in or something like that.

Try doing this:

When you are homing after the z-axis homes, quickly press the x-limit switch if it stops then we probably know it is not your limit switch and one or both of your stepper motors.

• Like 1

Try doing this:

When you are homing after the z-axis homes, quickly press the x-limit switch if it stops then we probably know it is not your limit switch and one or both of your stepper motors.

Yes - that's another good thing to try - but hit the switch twice quickly (click click) because the homing procedure heads to the switch fast the first time and then moves away about 1mm and then towards it a second time and expects the switch to to "on-off-on" in quick succession.

Posted (edited) · X or Y switch broken