Hello & another before I buy :-)

printbot

Posted · Hello & another before I buy :-)

Hi Ultimakers,

I am just about decided that Ultimaker is the machine for me but before I buy one I wanted to ask if you think this model is printable - I have been informed that it should be OK but wondering what the community thought - I have no experience of 3D printing, as yet :-)

I have attached the model in STL in case you want a closer look but the model is a timber barn structure so lots of voids within....

15855700200_b59c3c6304_k.thumb.jpg.c4c1921a29a299166bc0b105881b7ea2.jpg

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

With a FDM machine like the Ultimaker, this is a very difficult print. Because of the thin sections in each layer, and the long thin pillars which break easy during printing.

I think it would be possible, but very hard to print at once. But printing it as multiple parts and glueing it together would be a lot easier. As you could put the parts flat on the printer bed. Bit the same as a sprue building kit.

I would love to be able to print this & similar in 1 go - if there are any skilled and brave Ultimaker users out there willing to give it a shot I would love to know how it goes..... Daid? :-)

That print looks like a nightmare.

I will try it tonight overnight, but I suspect that it will look very "salvador dali" in the morning....

But I dont have anything else to print right now so I will try it for fun.

It would help if your STL wasnt scaled to be the ACTUAL barn.....

EDIT:

You have alot of issues with this STL, and I am unable to work with it. Even though I have

Netfabb, CURA, and KISSLICER - so if you want anything to happen please resend with some proper

native CAD data that I can convert to STL.

Hi snowygrouch,

Thanks for looking at this, much appreciated.

The barn size STL was in case anyone wanted to print a full barn :-)