How to print this wheel

devoney

Posted · How to print this wheel

Hi All,

I am very new to 3D printing. In fact, I have only ordered the UltiMaker and I am waiting for it to arive.

I can not sit still in the mean time. Therefore, I wanted to create a 3D model of something.

I have choosen this wheel. It is a wheel with rough dimensions of 13mm (height) x 30.5mm (radius). It is a model of a wheel of my dishwasher, because one of them is broken.

The outer rim of the wheel is extruded from the inner, as you can see in the attachments.

How do I position this wheel best? Do I need some supports? And if so, how do I use supports during printing?

Ultimaker Original+ Press Kit.zip

vf-low-poly-bow-tie (2).zip

Thanks in advance!

Devoney

If you remove the "inset" from the "bottom" side you won't need support any more. (bottom in the first picture) This way the first layer holds everything else on top.

Hello Daid,

Thank you for your response. The inset is there because a pin will hold the wheel. Is there another way? The pin is not as wide as the inset. Maybe making it smaller might do it? But then there is still a full horizontal piece to print.

Hello Owen,

Also thank you for your reply. How would I go about using supports? Is a support a prefab object that I put on the print table? Or is it something that the printer prints during printing the wheel that functions as support?

Greets,

Devoney

The support in this case is printed out at the same time as your object. You can design the support structure yourself but the much easier way is to simply let the slicer do the heavy lifting for you and figure out what's needed. After the object is printed you'll have to manually break/cut/bite/twist/sand the support off.