Trying to fix our school's Original+, cannot figure out what's going on with our hot end....

Posted · Trying to fix our school's Original+, cannot figure out what's going on with our hot end....

Hello, all! Complete and total novice here, at my wit's end after working on our printer for hours! We have an Original+ in our makerspace that our students (5th and 6th graders) are DYING to use, but I cannot seem to figure out this problem....

Below are pictures of filament after attempting the atomic method several times. As you can see, the tip is coming out clean, but the filament seems to be melting/burning above the extruder head. I am using the exact temperatures specified for the atomic method and am making sure to pull the filament straight up when it has cooled. We had an issue earlier in which the nozzle clogged and melted filament collected at the top of the heater block, which has since, to the best of our ability, been cleaned up.

Pictures of our current issue

IMG_20170125_093138.thumb.jpg.8b9cd21f6db052a776162722558e775b.jpg

IMG_20170125_093205.thumb.jpg.13a5a5809e958b359bbeb1c254d4a44d.jpg

IMG_20170125_093213.thumb.jpg.3ea1022d1bc65b14bca10a560f0d891a.jpg

So far, I have tried:

[*]Replacing the aluminum heater block

[*]Replacing the hot end isolator coupler

[*]Adjusting the tension on the feeder wheel

Does this look like an issue with the hot end isolator tube, the peek isolator, or the nozzle? We're stumped at the moment :(

IMG_20170125_093138.thumb.jpg.8b9cd21f6db052a776162722558e775b.jpg

IMG_20170125_093205.thumb.jpg.13a5a5809e958b359bbeb1c254d4a44d.jpg

IMG_20170125_093213.thumb.jpg.3ea1022d1bc65b14bca10a560f0d891a.jpg

Posted · Trying to fix our school's Original+, cannot figure out what's going on with our hot end....

How many atomics done? Maybe is just some left particles of other filament or dirt. I would keep doing stomics until they come clean. Also maybe, if is abs debris, it might need an atomic with abs or with nylon.