Jump to content

Retraction is NaN


BlackCloud

Recommended Posts

Posted · Retraction is NaN

Ultimaker 3

I have some threading problems I'm trying to fix so I am looking at the retraction settings.

Both the speed and distance default retraction settings for all the material profiles shipped with our printer is NaN. Not a Number usually means division by zero or some other numerical problem. What is it supposed to be and is there any way to change it without having to copy the settings into another profile? The edit option is not enabled for any of the profiles shipped.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Retraction is NaN

    Which Cura version are you using?

    I tried in Cura v2.5 Beta and can change those values (after duplicating the protected profile).

     

    Version 2.4.0

    I can duplicate and edit the profile but I would like to know what the default value is so I have a good starting point.

    And I think that NaN is not a good default value anyway. It's not a best practice in software development to leave something like that improperly initialized.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Retraction is NaN

    What printer did you select?

    Did you try closing Cura and starting it up again?

    Not sure what you mean. I only have one printer to connect to.

    As for restarting Cura, this issue is with the default settings of the materials. It always shows NaN.

    5a3335ad54ed4_MaterialDefaults.thumb.png.a6245256b426583c894cea06eaa44aba.png[/media]

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Retraction is NaN

    Haha, ok. Oh wait you said you have an Ultimaker 3. Nvm.

    Ah this is about material profiles.

    Maybe @nallath can help you out here?

    This seems to be a visualization problem, which is also present in Cura 2.5-beta!

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Retraction is NaN

    Ah wait. We noticed this problem a while back (CURA-3037), but it seems only a problem for Windows users and then the bug got lost in a large pile of bugs which we never got around to looking at again :S

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Retraction is NaN

    Ah wait. We noticed this problem a while back (CURA-3037), but it seems only a problem for Windows users and then the bug got lost in a large pile of bugs which we never got around to looking at again :S

    OK. Not a big problem since I can set up a new profile. It might explain why some of y prints have such egregious threading issues. It would be helpful to know what the default values should be so I don't have to try 10 prints to get it right.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
          • Like
        • 16 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...