Poor Nylon Adhesion

swansboy74

Posted · Poor Nylon Adhesion

So I have been printing with nylon for a couple of months now I think. Never had an issue with it, I made sure to dry it out before I started using it and have been storing it in an airtight container with desiccant.

I use a glue stick to adhere the print to the bed, although that no longer seems to be working.

Things I have tried so far:

- increasing the temp of the print bed (increasing the temp of the initial layers)

- Increasing the temp of the initial print layers

- Tried printing with a brim and a raft (even the raft is no longer sticking!)

- Increasing the width and decreasing the height of the initial printing layers

As far as I can till it is because the prints are cooling too quickly and warping on the plate. When I try smaller prints they seem to work ok but I have no idea what is going on here.

Please tell me some of you have experienced this before and have found some resolutions!

Smaller prints are definitely easier as the warping/pulling forces are smaller.

Nylon is definitely harder. I printed some 30mm parts last weekend and one of them came loose. Things that help me:

1) Lots of brim. I know you said you do brim but I do 15 passes.

2) 80C bed temp. Not sure if this matters. Being above the glass temp will make the nylon more flexible so it has more give and puts less stress on the corners that lift (make those corners round also if possible). But the nylon I use has a glass temp of over 100C so 80C won't help with that. But it does help heat the air more so the nylon doesn't cool as much so it doesn't shrink as much. 115C would probably be better.

3) Cover the printer. I put a box on top - just a normal box that used to hold printer paper. No modifications needed. No tape needed. And a plastic bag on the front of the printer held on with blue tape. Air temp gets up to 35C.