Cura vs Simplify3D

OOC

Posted · Cura vs Simplify3D

Hello all,

I wanted to ask the community about their preference regarding Cura vs Simplify3D. A buddy of mine suggested to me today that Simplify3D was the much better way to go than Cura and he listed all of these benefits to Simplify3D. Now, I am new to 3D printing and slicers. Does anyone have experience with both of these and can share their opinion? Is the extra 150 dollars worth it to get Simplify3D? Does Cura do all the same things as Simplify3D?

Thanks.

There are things S3D does that Cura does not do. There are also things that Cura does that S3D does not. And then there’s a lot the both of them do differently. 

It comes down to preference. One thing Cura does that S3D doesn’t really is let you try it out for free.

Posted (edited) · Cura vs Simplify3D

Indeed, Cura being free is a huge benefit.  In my opinion, it's easier to set up for your printer, although once you have S3D set up, it's pretty easy to use as well.

In my experience, S3D is a bit better with support in that it's easier to remove and leaves a cleaner surface.  I haven't tried all the settings in Cura, however.  I am just talking about the default support settings.  Cura does better brims, although I think the latest version of S3D has improved that. One big advantage of S3D is the ability to customize support.  I hope Cura gets this feature someday, and then I probably would just use Cura all the time.

I recommend you use Cura and become familiar with 3D printing first, and if you want to try more complicated settings later you can try S3D.

Edited by rowiac

I used to use S3D 100% when I first got my UM2, but find these days that as Cura has matured I'm using S3D only on the very odd occasion now - Cura just seems to 'work' so much easier these days, especially when using the Mark 2 mod. :):+1: