Ultimaker s5 or 3?

Posted · Ultimaker s5 or 3?

Not sure which product would suit my needs best. I am a research student who has been tasked with 3d printing multiple organ models out of flexible materials. If someone could give me the benefits and drawbacks of each that would be great.

Personally, if I had to do this, I would probably want to use the PVA support feature and I still prefer my UM3 over my S5 (unless I'm printing something too big for the UM3).  So I would get two Um3s.  Or one UM3 and spend the savings on filament.

Also you might want to consider casting - you can print the mold instead and cast the organ with silicone which you can get in many different softnesses.

For example mold max comes in hardness 10,20,25,30,40 (all of them flexible but 40 is 4X stiffer than moldmax 10).

• Like 1

TPU95A is about as soft as you'll want to print with a bowden fed FDM printer. About what size are the models you're doing? Would you benefit from the larger bed? The S5 does also have some other features (like the flow sensors so you know if you've run out of filament). It all depends on what your needs are.

I haven't tried anything more flexible than the 95A shore hardness. Someone on the Materials board may have and can let you know how it goes: https://community.ultimaker.com/forum/111-materials/

UM3 and UMS5 are both bowden fed (rather than direct drive). Being bowden fed means the printhead can be a lot lighter than a printer with direct drive, but it also means you've got more friction inside the tube, which can be difficult for more flexible materials. TPU95A is pretty flexible, and has profiles built in Cura already.

I have printed with NinjaFlex. It was not that difficult. But, i was very new to printing and did not quite get settings as good as I can now. And, I did get it to work with PVA supports.

Size will be your issue if you are doing full sized anatomy. A pelvic bladder system would not fit into the UM3(E) series.