UM Original+ as second device ?

Smithy

Posted · UM Original+ as second device ?

I need some help because I am not sure if it makes sense what I have in my mind.

I have an UM3 and love it, perfekt machine for me, but due the reason I am very new to 3D printing, I want to print a lot, but the prints takes some time and so I thought I could buy a second machine to print in parallel ?  

Another UM3 or 2+ is too expensive, because I am printing just a hobby, so I was looking for something else. Most of the kits available are using 1.75 filament, which make no sense for me, because I have lot of 2.85 spools from my UM3. So an additional printer should have 2.85 filaments. 

And then I came to the idea, to buy the UM Original+ but I am not sure if I would disappointed when coming from the UM3? I don't need the auto bed leveling and also not the dual extrusion, but are there any other significant differences.

Beside the UMO+ are there any other printers with 2.85 filament which are recommended as a second printer?

Thanks!

Lulzbot and BCN3D are known to use 3mm (2.85mm) diameter filaments too. But there's not a lot wrong with the UMO+ if you don't need auto bed leveling or dual extrusion. They are very capable machines.

Posted (edited) · UM Original+ as second device ?

Both, Lulzbot and BCN3D, are in higher price range, thats why I looked at the UMO+ as a second device. 

I was not sure if the UMO+ is more than "outdated", because after the UMO+ there is also UM2, UM2+ and I don't know if the UMO+ is still a good printer to make some "normal" things.

Hopefully I don't need another house in 1 year, because I need more space for more and more printers ?

Edited by Smithy

I absolutely love the UM2go.  I have 3 of them.  I use them more than my other printers (UM2/UM3/S5/UMO).