What happens if my printer runs out of filament midway through a print?

thryithyri

Posted · What happens if my printer runs out of filament midway through a print?

Sorry if this is a stupid question! I’m super new to this whole thing.

Basically I’m running a 26 hour print overnight, and leaving for work straight away in the morning. I’m worried that my printer will run out of filament (because as said, I’m really new to this and idk how much filament will even be used) midway through while I’m not there to pause it, and I’ll have to start the entire thing again and waste a bunch of plastic.

Will it just stop printing when there’s no filament left? Or have I made a huge mistake here?

Posted · What happens if my printer runs out of filament midway through a print?

It depends on your printer, if your printer has a filament sensor, then it will stop and wait to load new material. If not, then the printer will finish your print job, also without filament.

• 3 weeks later...
    Posted (edited) · What happens if my printer runs out of filament midway through a print?

I think still fairly few hobby printers have proper filament detection systems and ways of responding to eg. filament getting stuck or running out, and so I'm just gonna go ahead and assume that your printer dosn't have this.
    In which case, the answer is quite simple, the printer won't know that the filament has run out and no filament is being extruded, and so will just continue "printing" (ie. moving the printhead around and running the feeder), until it is done with the print... this will result in a model that is not fully done.
    Now, depending on the material you are using and whether or not the half finished print has detached itself from the print bed, it is possible to actually reload some filament and "resume" the print...

The method is not trivial though, but it goes something like this: