M92 E14 instruction lacking in set-up pages for new users

mastory

Posted · M92 E14 instruction lacking in set-up pages for new users

Hi everyone !

Could you tell me what this "M92 E14" code is for and what does it mean ?

I'm quite new in 3d printing and switched very recently to Netfabb !

Thanks for any reply !

Didier

Another question !

When I get to the GCode Header, I can see that there are already some lines in there :

M106

M109

Should I remove these lines and replace them by :

M92

E14

Or should I insert these lines before or after the existing lines ?

Thanks in advance for any help !

Didier

The M92 E14 tells the printer to have 14 step motor steps per "E" value. The "E" value controls the amount of extrusion.

This is needed for the Marlin or Sprinter firmware, which default to a much larger value, causing massive amounts of extrusion if you do not add a M92 E14.

It is also possible to make a Marlin Firmware with a default of E14, but that's not what is supplied right now and used by most users.

As for your other question. Leave those lines in there. And the "M92 E14" needs to be on a single line.

M106 tells your printer to turn the fan on for cooling.

M109 sets the temperature, and waits.

For a large list of commands:

http://www.reprap.org/wiki/G-code

(not all these commands are supported, and not all commands are listed)

Thank you Daid for your quick and precise answer !

I'm going to try this and I will compare the result to my first(and only) print with netfab original Gcode header !

(My first print : "Yoda", went out pretty good with the original GCode header, but I think the issue may occur more or less depending on the design of the object)

Have a nice day !

Didier