Simple square model, to measure line width, wall a little to thick and weird gcode, changing direction at every layer, why ?

sibianul

Posted · Simple square model, to measure line width, wall a little to thick and weird gcode, changing direction at every layer, why ?

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie in this 3D printing world,  I wanted to build one a few years ago, in this winter break I decided to actually build it, and started drawing the Lautr3k model in Fusion360, the dimension was given by the leadscrews I initially purchased, quite long (480mm), but didn't want to cut them.

So Now a week ago I did my first print, in the mean time I also printed a few more parts that are actually ok (I don't like the surface of all my prints, that is bellow, even with support underneath, but this will be a different thread), but now I want to talk about a very simple model I made , a 20 mm square with a thin wall. I first modeled the square with a 0.6mm wall (same as my nozzle), and tried printing it, the wall was actually thicker (~0.75mm), but on one side is not perfectly solid, and this is the part where the gcode is weird IMO, I don't know why it's not going in the same direction, in a continous move from layer, after it makes a full square it travels back one  side, and than it starts again on the oposite direction, is there a setting to make it move in a more logical way ? The red lines are travel moves, yellow arrows are showing the direction, I don't know why this wall is printed very bed, probably there is something not properly calibrated on my printer, but if there is a way to generate the toolpath in a continuous way, same direction, this test cube would be much more prettier 🙂 I attached the Gcode, speed was set to 

1997511549_squaregcode.thumb.jpg.ad3b71eba068c479c4f33b7b10e89406.jpg1125042231_testsquare.thumb.jpg.22fc42127c6f8ab3122cee3509043e0f.jpg